Supreme Court of India


The Supreme Court of India is the highest court and final court of appeal under the Constitution of India with the power of constitutional review. It includes the Chief Justice of India and 30 other judges. The judges of the Supreme Court retire at the age of 65. It has original, appellate and advisory jurisdiction. Appellate jurisdiction means it can take up appeals mainly against verdicts of the High Courts of various States of the Union along with other courts and tribunals. Original jurisdiction means that the court can exercise its powers for the protection of the fundamental rights of citizens. It also acts as the court to resolve disputes between various governments within the country. As an advisory court (advisory jurisdiction), it hears matters which might specifically be referred to it under the Constitution by the President of India. It also might take cognizance of issues on its own, without anyone drawing its attention. The law declared by the Supreme Court is binding on all courts within India.

The building of the Supreme Court is shaped to symbolize scales of justice with its center-beam being the Central Wing of the building having the chief justice’s court, the largest of the courtrooms, including two court halls on either side. The Right Wing of the Supreme Court has the bar room, the offices of the Attorney General of India and other law officers like the Solicitor General and the library of the court. The Left Wing has the offices of the court. All in all, there are 15 courtrooms in the various wings of the building. The current Chief Justice of India is Honourable Justice Mr. Ranjan Gogoi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here