Khajuraho Group of Temples


Khajuraho group of temples are known for their impressive artists and elegance. The holy temples present visual appeals at its finest. The beauty and also style of the Khajuraho temples is beyond words and imagination. After going to Khajuraho, you will be left wondering about the innovative art, sculpture as well as architecture back in the 10th century. There is hardly any other area than Khajuraho, where all sort of human emotions has been depicted with such terrific quality.

There are about 25 temples scattered over an expanse of roughly 6 square Kilometres. The holy places are organized into three classifications relying on their orientation– the Eastern Group of Temples, the Western Group of Temples and the Southern Group of Temples. These holy places are committed to numerous Hindu Gods and Goddesses together with deities in Jain beliefs. Among the sacred sites that are standing still now, six are devoted to Lord Shiva, eight to Lord Vishnu, one each to Lord Ganesha and the Sun God, while three are committed to Jain Tirthankaras. The biggest of the temples is the Kandariya Mahadeo Holy place that is dedicated to the majesty of Lord Shiva. It makes Khajuraho one of the four divine sites committed to the magnificence of Lord Shiva, the various other 3 being Gaya, Kashi and also Kedarnath.

The temples are known for their sophisticated and detailed makings and sculpture. While these sculptures illustrate various scenes from daily lives, the Khajuraho holy places are primarily recognized for the artful as well as sensual representation of the female type in addition to different sex-related techniques of the time. The four Jain temples are mostly situated among the eastward collection of temples. The Parasvanath, Shantinath, Adinath, and Ghantai temples are the ones committed to praising of the Jain Tirthankaras. These temples were erected by the Chandela rulers in obedience to the flourishing technique of Jainism in central India during their regulation.

The temples of Khajuraho were appointed by the Rajput rulers of the Chandella Dynasty that subjugated middle India from the 10th to the 13th Century CE. The temples were constructed over 100 years, and also it is thought that each Chandela ruler commissioned a minimum of one temple in the complex throughout his lifetime. The holy places were constructed approximately 57 Kilometres from the city of Mahoba, the capital of the Chandela dynasty rulers. Most of the enduring present-day temples were built during the reigns of king Yashovarman as well as Dhangadeva. Historical accounts of Abu Rihan-al-Biruni described the temple collection of Khajuraho from towards the end of 11th century when Mahmud of Ghazi invaded Kalinjar. The Kings struck an agreement with Mahmud by paying a value that prevented him from looting the temples. Khajuraho is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here