Law Commission of India


The Law Commission of India is an administrative body developed by a Federal Government Of India order. Its primary mandate is to cause reforms in the legal domain in the nation. The Commission is chiefly made up of legal specialists. The Law Commission is formed for a set term. It works as a consultative body to the Law and Justice Ministry. The first-ever Law Commission was established in 1834 via the 1833 Charter Act. There were three further Law Commissions during the British Raj before freedom. At present, one significant worry before the Commission is the alteration of the Indian Penal Code or the IPC.

The Law Commission of India is not a statutory body. It is made up by the Federal government of India. The very first such Commission was set up under the Chairmanship of Lord Macaulay which suggested codification of the Penal Code and the Criminal Procedure Code. The Indian Contract Act, The Indian Code of Civil Procedure, the Indian Evidence Act, the Transfer of Property Act and so on are the results of the very first four Law Commissions.

The Federal government of India developed the First Law Commission of Independent India in 1955 and is reconstituted every three years. The tenure of the 21st Law Commission ended in 2018. Until now, the Law Commissions have contributed towards the dynamic improvement as well as codification of the laws of the country. Although the Constitution has not provided law Commission, yet it is influenced by numerous components of Constitution such as Fundamental Rights as well as Directive Principles of state policy specifically Article 39A, which claims that State shall secure that the operation of the legal system serves justice.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here