Classification of Indian soils


Soil is a blend of raw material, minerals, gases, liquids, and also microorganisms that with each other support life. As per Indian Council of Agricultural Research, soils are separated right into eight categories. They are:

1) Alluvial soil:

Primarily available soil in India (about 43%), which covers an area of 143 Widespread in northern plains and also river valleys. In peninsular-India, they are mostly located in deltas as well as estuaries. New alluvium is called Khadarand, whereas old alluvium is called as Bhangar.

2) Red soil:

They are red because of ferric oxide.

3) Black soil/ regur dirt:

Regur implies cotton– most exceptional soil for cotton farming. The majority of the Deccan is inhabited by Black soil. It is Mature soil. It has High water-retaining capacity. Self-plowing is a quality of the black soil as it creates vast cracks when dried.

4) Laterite soil:

Name from Latin word ‘Later,’ which indicates Brick. It becomes soft when damp as well as harsh when dried out. Discovered in the locations of high temperature and high rains.

5) Desert/ dry soil:

Seen under arid as well as semi-arid conditions.

6) Peaty/ marshy soil:

Discovered in locations of heavy rainfall and high humidity. The increase in vegetation is very trivial. A considerable amount of dead organic matter/humus, which makes the soil alkaline.

7) Forest soil:

Regions of high rainfall. Humus content is less, and also hence, the soil is acidic.

8) Mountain soil:

Found in the hill regions of the nation. Immature dirt with low humus and also acidic.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here